Shepreth’s population was first recorded as a total of 30 inhabitants as early as 1086, blossoming and expanding to over 800 today. The name ‘Shepreth’ means ‘Sheep Stream’, indicative of a place where sheep could be washed en route to the City of Cambridge.
A public house in The Plough’s location has been a feature of Shepreth village since as early as the 17th Century. Historical records show that the known ‘Plough Inn’ sadly burnt down, and was rebuilt in brick in 1896. Other public houses came and went over the years, leaving The Plough standing proud and providing a central community location for the village.
Perhaps its most fascinating historical boast is that The Plough was a known local haunt for ‘The Few’ during the ‘Battle of Britain’. With the majority of the Spitfires and Hurricanes taking off from Duxford to defend the nation’s capital, The Plough was a popular haunt for returning pilots drowning their sorrows over lost comrades.